Skip to main content

This is a BTEC vocational course that has three outcomes. It is a stand-alone qualification. Or it could suit school leavers who wish to test the water and see if they like might like to continue on to study Fine Art at university. Alternatively, this course is for those who are certain that they want to complete a BA in Fine Art and can be the first step towards a full Fine Art degree.  


BTEC vocational courseAll students who apply for a Fine Art degree must have completed an Art Foundation Diploma first. 37 universities in the UK offer 41 different visual arts courses as foundation courses.

How to apply

To apply students need 5 GCSE, one must be English language with a grade C or above. Also required are an A Level or AS in Art Design or a BTEC National Diploma in Fine Art plus a portfolio to show off their work.

Assessment or examinations are held internally by the course provider. Each unit needs to be passed to qualify for the final diploma which will be graded Pass, Merit or Distinction.

This course runs for a full year, just like an academic year, starting in September.


For British school leaver under 19 years tuition is free. Over 19 years the fee is around £1,300 p.a

Gap year option

Many young artists use their Gap year as the time to complete an Art Foundation Diploma. Some then go onto study Visual Arts at university, others change course and see the Art Foundation as having been a valuable experience and an interesting qualification. 

Most popular Good Schools Guide articles

  • University Technical College (UTC)

    University Technical Colleges, specialist Academies and City Technical Schools all offer an alternative to mainstream schools for children. These local colleges may suit students looking for a curriculum that combines traditional academics with practical skills.  window.__lc = window.__lc || {}; window.__lc.license = 9097600; (function() { var lc = document.createElement('script'); lc.type = 'text/javascript'; lc.async = true; lc.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://' : 'http://') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(lc, s); })();

  • A Levels, IB

    Considering what A Levels to take when you are just 15 years old can be hard, very hard. These choices can be made harder as it is important to make sure that your choices ensure your future options remain as flexible as possible. 

  • BTEC Nationals

    BTEC Nationals, otherwise known as The Business and Technology Education Council qualification, are overseen by Pearson.  For students who want to hone practical skills and theory simultaneously whilst being tested, largely, by continuous assessment, they are an ideal choice.

  • HNCs & HNDs

    Many people will know BTEC Highers by the acronym HNC, Higher National Certificate and HND, Higher National Diploma.

  • Technical Baccalaureate (TechBac)

    Newly introduced in 2014, the TechBac are practical, vocational, courses run by the City and Guilds aimed at 16-19-year-olds wanting technical qualifications and what are known as soft skills.

Subscribe for instant access to in-depth reviews, data and catchment:

30,000 Independent, state and special schools in our parent-friendly interactive directory
 Instant access to in-depth UK school reviews
 Which schools pupils come from and go onto
 Honest, opinionated and fearless independent reviews of over 1,000 schools
 Independent tutor company reviews

Try before you buy - The Charter School Southwark

The Good Schools Guide subscription

GSG Blog >    In the news >

The Good Schools Guide newsletter

The Good Schools Guide Newsletter

Educational insight in your inbox. Sign up for our popular newsletters.

Whose results are the anyway?


For a limited time get one month's Good Schools Guide subscription free with any purchase of The Good Schools Guide to Boarding Schools.